AGENCY: Department of Natural Resources (Utah). Division of Parks and Recreation
DATES: ca. 1950-
ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by last name.
DESCRIPTION: These are citations issued by park rangers to park visitors for violations of the Utah Code and/or park rules and regulations. Park rangers are Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certified, and have full law enforcement authority in the State of Utah (see Utah Code 79-4-501(2)(2009)).
Examples of citable offenses are traffic violations, driving under the influence (DUI), boating under the influence (BUI), disorderly conduct, failure to clean a camp site prior to leaving, lighting a campfire in an undesignated area, operating an off-highway vehicle (OHV) in an undesignated area, and boating without proper safety equipment.
Records include information about the incident, the citation recipient, the park ranger who issued the citation, and other relevant data, such as blood draw results (if applicable).
Retain for 7 year(s)
RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION
Retention and disposition for this series were specifically approved by the State Records Committee.
Paper: Retain in Office for 1 year and then transfer to State Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 6 years and then destroy.
Computer data files: Retain in Office for 7 years and then delete.
Protected. Utah Code 63G-2-305(51)(2017)
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(2)(d)(2017)
Controlled. Utah Code 63G-2-304(2008) for blood draws
Page Last Updated .