Retention and Classification Report

Agency: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division (2959)

210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84134

Records Officer:

09380 Bankruptcy case files

14826 Collections procedure manuals
06607 Default notices
06608 Foreclosure notices

06609 Notice of sheriff's sale
09671 Support unit records
17074 Tax collections files
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Utah State Archives
Page:

AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 9380

TITLE: Bankruptcy case files

DATES: 1986-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological, thereunder alphabetical by taxpayer name
ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 2.00 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:

These case files are used by the Tax Commission as a research
tool to verify taxpayer compliance. They record names of
individuals who owe business or income taxes and are filing for
bankruptcy. They also contain investigation documents created by
the collection division of the Tax Commission. They include agent
assignment records, investigation reports, tax liability
statements, copies of correspondence, court filings, payment
agreements, business records, and tax returns. Informations
includes petitioner's name, address, and social security number,
tax account number, amount of penalties and interest, and tax
period.

RETENTION:

Retain for 6 year(s) after case is closed

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

These records are in Archives' permanent custody.

APPROVED: 06/1992

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office until case closes and then microfilm and
destroy provided microfilm has passed inspection.

Microfilm master: Retain in State Records Center for 6 years and
then destroy.

Microfilm duplicate: Retain in Office for 6 years and then
destroy.
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 9380
TITLE: Bankruptcy case files

(continued)
APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative value(s).

This disposition is based on the administrative needs expressed
by the Tax Commission to retain these case file as a reference
tool.

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Private
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 14826

TITLE: Collections procedure manuals

DATES: 1986-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by tax type

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 1.00 cubic foot.

DESCRIPTION:
Manuals used by the collections division to govern how the
division selects, performs, and completes collection and
compliance actions. The information is used by all agents and the
division to select, evaluate, conduct, and finalize collection
and compliance activities, plus criteria for waivers, offers, or
compromise, and illegal drugs-stamp enforcement. These manuals
specify actions and steps that must be taken to meet provisions
of Title 59 of the Utah Code Annotated, and Tax Commission rules.
Information includes collection and compliance data, document
research and selection criteria, informant controls and
guidelines for evasion and fraud, post audit collection
procedures, compliance criteria, selection criteria for criminal
prosecution, and other guidelines for collection, compliance,
waiver, compromise, and tax enforcement.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

Retention and disposition for this series were specifically approved by the State Records
Committee.

APPROVED: 01/1996

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office until updated and then take sample for
historical purposes and transfer to State Archives with authority
to weed.

APPRAISAL:

This disposition is based on the administrative and historical
needs expressed by the agency. Once the information is updated it
is no longer needed by the agency. However, a sample of the
collection procedures should be retained permanently to document
tax collection procedures.
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 14826
TITLE: Collections procedure manuals

(continued)

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Protected UCAB3G-2-305(13) (2008)

SECONDARY DESIGNATION(S):

Public. Collection procedure information becomes public once the procedures are
obsolete and no longer used by the Tax Commission.
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6607

TITLE: Default notices

DATES: i 1986-
ARRANGEMENT: Chronological
DESCRIPTION:

This record is a notice sent to the Tax Commission by a creditor
that a debtor has defaulted on a mortgage, note, or other
obligation and that the creditor intends to sell the property

held in security. The Tax Commission has a two-month period in
which to decide to take control of the property in order to
protect the State's interest or to facilitate the collection of

taxes owed by the debtor. If the seized property is sold to pay
for debts, the buyer is given a sheriff's (temporary) title valid

for six months. The original debtor has this six-month period in
which to redeem (buy back) the seized property for the price paid
by the buyer, plus interest.

RETENTION:

Retain for 1 year(s)

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:
These records are in Archives' permanent custody.

APPROVED: 11/1986

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office for 2 months and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 10 months and
then destroy.

APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative, and/or legal value(s).

This disposition is based on the legal and administrative needs
expressed by the agency.

04/19/24 21:27



Utah State Archives
Page:

AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6607
TITLE: Default notices

(continued)

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Public
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6608

TITLE: Foreclosure notices
DATES: i 1986-
ARRANGEMENT: Chronological
DESCRIPTION:

This record is a notice of a creditor selling real property at

public auctions to collect funds owed on a debt. Notice is
required in order to give other creditors a chance to take action
to protect their interests in the property. These notice copies

are sent to the Tax Commission to notify it of the seizure of

real property. The Tax Commission has a two-month period in which
to decide to take control of the seized property to pay for taxes
owed by the debtor. If the seized property is sold to pay for
debts, the buyer of the property is given a sheriff's (temporary)
title valid for six months. The original debtor has this

six-month period in which to redeem (buy back) the seized
property for the price paid by the buyer, plus interest. The
notices include the date, time, and location of sale; names of
both creditor and debtor; type of instrument being foreclosed,;
date and location where instrument was recorded; location of real
property, description of real property; date and location where
notice of default was recorded; and date of notice of

foreclosure.

RETENTION:

Retain for 1 year(s)

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:
These records are in Archives' permanent custody.

APPROVED: 11/1986

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office for 2 months and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 10 months and
then destroy.
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Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6608
TITLE: Foreclosure notices

(continued)
APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative value(s).

This disposition is based on the administrative needs expressed
by the agency.

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Public

Page:
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6609

TITLE: Notice of sheriff's sale

DATES: i 1986-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 0.30 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:
This record is a notice sent by the county sheriff to permit
creditors advising them that personal property seized from a
debtor for nonpayment of a debt will be sold. This notice allows
creditors to take action in order to protect their interests in
the property. This notice is also sent to the Tax Commission to
notify them of the seizure of personal property. The Tax
Commission has a two month period in which to decide to take
control of the seized property to pay for taxes owed by the
debtor. If the seized property is sold to pay for debts, the
buyer of the property is given a sheriff's (temporary) title
valid for six months. The original debtor has this six month
period in which to redeem (buy back) the seized property for the
price paid by the buyer, plus interest. They include civil case
number; name of the creditor; name of debtor; date, time, and
location of sale; description of the property; location where
notice was recorded; and date of notice.

RETENTION:

Retain for 1 year(s)

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:
These records are in Archives' permanent custody.

APPROVED: 03/1987

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office for 2 months and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 10 months and
then destroy.
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 6609
TITLE: Notice of sheriff's sale

(continued)
APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative, and/or legal value(s).

This disposition is based on the administrative needs expressed
by the agency to retain these notices for one year.

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Public
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 9671

TITLE: Support unit records

DATES: 1985-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological, thereunder numerical by case number
ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 1.00 cubic foot.

DESCRIPTION:

Records regarding State employees who are not executives or
exempt status containing substantive information relating to
official activities, the substance of which has not been
incorporated into official files. Includes calendars, appointment
books, schedules, logs, diaries, and other records documenting
meetings, appointments, telephone calls, trips, visits, and other
activities of employees. See also Executive Calendars or Routine
Activity Calendars.

UCA 63-2-103 (18)(b) (1992) indicates that these types of

materials are not considered by the Government Records Access and
Management Act (GRAMA) to be records.

RETENTION:

Retain for 1 year(s)

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

These records are in Archives' permanent custody.

AUTHORIZED: 12-18-2018

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:
Paper: Retain in Office for 1 year and then destroy.
APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative value(s).

This disposition is based on the administrative needs expressed
by the Tax Commission.
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 9671
TITLE: Support unit records

(continued)

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Private
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 17074

TITLE: Tax collections files

DATES: 1980-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological, thereunder alphabetical by taxpayer name
ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 25.00 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:

These are the files of actions taken to collect delinquent income
taxes. These files include Warrants for delinquent taxes,
Satisfaction of warrants for delinquent taxes, notice of informal
hearings of penalty and interest waiver, response to
subordination of lien requests, discharge of debtor, agent's
contact history, Collection installment agreements, and related
correspondence. Information includes the taxpayer's name and
address, taxpayer's social security number, type of tax owed,
amount of tax, penalty, and interest due, amount and intervals of
installment payments, taxpayer's employer, bank, and other source
of income or assets, case number, docket number, page and date
recorded by the county, county where the warrant was filed, date
of the warrant, amount due, tax period involved and the date the
lien was released.

RETENTION:

Retain for 15 year(s)

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

RETENTION AND DISPOSITION AUTHORIZATION:

Retention and disposition for this series were specifically approved by the State Records
Committee.

APPROVED: 03/1987

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

Paper: Retain in Office for 6 years after case has closed or
until microfilmed and then destroy provided microfilm has passed
inspection.

Microfilm master: Retain in Archives for 15 years and then
destroy.

Microfilm duplicate: Retain in Office for 15 years and then
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AGENCY: Utah State Tax Commission. Taxpayer Services Division

SERIES: 17074
TITLE: Tax collections files

(continued)

destroy.

APPRAISAL:

These records have administrative value(s).

The Tax Commission has asked for a six year retention after the
case has closed. These files are useful as a research and
reference file, and used by the Tax Commission to give a
compliance history of the taxpayer. These files are also useful
to provide leads as to the taxpayer's location and assets. This
retention is the same as other business tax records and returns.

PRIMARY DESIGNATION:
Protected

SECONDARY DESIGNATION(S):
Private
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